The Journey

We are all on a journey.  Maybe not all headed to the same destination but on a journey just the same.  There are pitfalls along the way.  How we handle those bumps in the road will ultimately determine how much peace we have along the way.

Starting point

When my journey began

  1.  Birth (or even before).  Of course I don’t remember the beginning but I’ve seen pictures and heard the stories!  Mom always told me that I was the first one of her then five children who was planned.  That was always hard to believe because after five “surprises” who would plan more.  Especially when money was tight and there wasn’t even a farm that needed additional hands!  In any event, there I was, in my mother’s womb where my Heavenly Father assures me that He was at work knitting me together perfectly.   “For thou hast possessed my reins; thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.  My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.”  (Psalm 139:13-16 KJV)
  2.  Early years. I feel that I was blessed by being born into a Christian family who took me to church faithfully from the first week of my life.  Not only was I raised in church, my home life was immersed in prayer and right living.  It wasn’t until later in my preteens that family life took a turn and I saw a different side of life’s journey.   That’s a story for another time.
  3.  The wrong path. During my teen years, I tried to stay true to my Christian roots.  I loved God and wanted to find a Christian husband.  That dream feel apart (again, a story for another time) and in my disappointment I rebelled against God and tried to find happiness down roads that ultimately lead to disaster.  How sad it is to travel the wrong roads and ignore the warning signs.  Too many people take the wide road and must suffer the consequences of those choices.  I am one.
  4.  Restoration. Thankfully, God is faithful to extend grace and provide u turns in the road.  It took me a lot of years to completely surrender my life back to Him, but oh how thankful I am for that restorative power.
  5.  Lighter load. The longer I travel down the right road, the easier the load becomes.  That doesn’t always feel like the case actually.  The more I see the trends of the world shoving aside the message of hope, the deeper the ache in my heart for all things to be made new. “For as the soil makes the sprout come up and a garden causes seeds to grow, so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness and praise spring up before all nations.” (Isaiah 61:11 KJV)  It may not make sense, but even though my heart hurts because of the rebellion against God, I always have peace along the journey.
  6.  Survival. How long before God makes all things right?  No one knows.  My survival skills include much prayer and studying the Word of God daily.  I pray for my children and my children’s children.  I pray for my husband.  I pray for extended family and friends as well as strangers that I hear of in need.  Now if you chose to follow me on this journey, I also pray for you.  We are all standing in need of prayer and in this process of life together.  May God enrich our lives and direct our steps.

“In every thing give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18 KJV)

Leave a Reply

