What Should I Do?

Worry is always waiting around the corner.  Go to bed at night thinking you have placed all your cares into the hand of God and are leaving them there, only to wake up with feelings of defeat staring you in the face.

The bible says not to worry.  How can anyone do that?  We have responsibilities that often overwhelm us.  We have children who are living dangerous lives.  We have the reality of old age sneaking up on us.  After all, there’s only so much time do get done the things that need to be done.  Now!  That’s the point.  What things really do need to be done?

Let’s just try to put worries into order of importance.  First thing on my mind this morning was finances.  My business seems to be losing ground and I need to find ways to make it more profitable and relevant to my customers.   I wake a lot of days with my business on my mind.  This doesn’t mean though that it’s number one in priority.  I think that I wake with those thoughts because I have to start with motivation to get to work.  That motivation alone though will not produce a successful work day.  In order to succeed at my business goals, I must first take time to spend with God.  If I just jump right into work, I almost always find myself overwhelmed and feeling like I didn’t do enough by the end of the day.

This morning for instance, I opened my bible and was about to turn to the chapter that I’ve been studying, but the verse that was before me on the page I opened to was “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat!” Isaiah 55:1a (NIV)  So I read on.

The worry that I felt when I awoke caused that verse to catch my eye.  I was worried about money and business.  However, as I read on, the really deep concern of my heart rose it’s head.  In Isaiah 56:8 it says “The Sovereign Lord declares—he who gathers the exiles of Israel: “I will gather still others to them besides those already gathered.”  This spoke the answer to me about the salvation of my children.  That, my friend, is my greatest concern.  Last week I heard a minister say “don’t ever say (or think) that your children are too lost to be saved”.  God is able to save!  However, I have felt defeated because my testimony doesn’t seem to resonate with my children.  I think they see me as foolish.  Of course, that is a whole other blog post that will wait. (i.e. 1 Corinthians).  When I read today about gathering the exiles and God will gather others to them, I felt as if God was confirming to my heart that I need to give of myself to serve those who are in need.  I have people all around me that are feeling exiled and lost.  As I focus on others, God will work on my children’s hearts in His time. 

As for my business concerns, I will keep on working and tuning my skills to keep up with the changing methods of advertising.  My business has been built on working hard for my customers and my passion to do that is still there, so off to work I go.

Isaiah 55:6 “Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near” (NIV).

 

Leave a Reply

